Bragging and Feeling Proud

29 10 2021

It just daunted upon me that I’m quite a braggart. I post quite a fair bit of stuffs on social media. It’s really convenient and easy to do these days. You simply whip out your mobile devices, or use your computers & laptops, and you typed away.

So what’s the purpose of posting and sharing on social media? Will it cause more toxic reactions from other viewers? Or it get more compliments and judgement from both people who knows and don’t know you?

My initial intention of sharing a lot of the things I do in school was to let my friends know how life in school is like, as the role is in. Becos many people doesn’t know what these Operations Managers (OM) do in school. We’ve been called security guards, that uncle, the discipline master, and so much more.

To be honest, I didn’t know what the OM really do in school prior to joining one. I’d think it’s the usual “jaga” (looking after) the traffic in the morning and checking on building and infrastructure matters. But it is more than that. Of cos, we can all do our basic level and still get by each day. But I chose to do abit more. And I share that on my social media with my friends. Is that bragging? But everyone has his/her own perception to things.

I’m proud of what I do in my role. I don’t really want the whole world to know but it seems, by sharing on social media, I am letting the whole word know. Which means I need to re-look at the thousands of friends in my social media followings. Who do I want to share my thoughts and feelings to. Does it matter if I share and say things that may cause more tensions?

I always believed that social media can be a good tool to use, if we uses it correctly. I’m definitely not trying to sell myself as an OM. But I’m selling the OM role to my friends who are thinking about switching careers. It is a very, very tiring job. But as I’ve mentioned before, it can be fulfilling if you do the right thing.

So is this blog post bragging? I dunno… you tell me.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment